Streaming Video Privacy
- Videos originally uploaded directly to the Canvas File Manager are only accessible to users who have a Course Designer, Instructor or similar role within the course.
- Videos embedded within a course’s content can be viewed as streaming videos, but also allow users the option to download.
- Canvas course content is only viewable by individuals enrolled within the course.
- Videos published to a course’s content as a YouTube Mashup are only accessible to users who have a Course Designer role, or other like roles within the Canvas course, or other users who have admin rights to the YouTube channel from which the video is attributed.
- YouTube Mashups within a Canvas course are viewed through a streaming player, without the option to download.
Echo captures that are published as podcasts are in .mp3 format. This content will include audio only. This content will open and stream in a browser’s QuickTime player. The .mp3 can be downloaded by opening the QuickTime player’s options menu, located by clicking on the down-arrow, which is to the very right of the audio’s timeline. There is no authentication necessary to view a podcast Echo, and the link can be copied and shared.
Echo captures that are published as vodcasts are in .m4v format. A vodcast will include audio and whatever content was visible on the classroom’s projector. A vodcast will open and stream in your browser’s QuickTime player. The .m4v can be downloaded by opening the QuickTime player’s options menu, located by clicking on the down-arrow, which is to the very right of the vodcast’s timeline. There is no authentication necessary to view a vodcast Echo, and the link can be copied and shared.
Echo captures that are published as streaming media are in .flv (flash) format. Streaming media will include audio, whatever content was visible on the classroom’s projector, and output from a classroom’s ceiling camera (if there is a camera in the classroom). Streaming media will open in the EchoPlayer, which is a flash-player. Content made available through this option is not downloadable. There is no authentication necessary to view a streaming Echo, and the link can be copied and shared.
Echo captures that are published to an RSS Feed can be distributed via the RSS Feed’s link to a public audience, thus making the links to the Echo captures public. There is no authentication necessary for a user to view these Echo captures.
Google Drive Video
- Videos uploaded to Google Drive can be shared with specific Google users, or a group of Google users, as designated by the owner of the video.
- Videos shared with other users can be shared with View Only or Edit rights, or can have shared ownership.
- View Only rights will allow users to download, and share the link to the video.
- Edit rights will allow users to download, share the link to the video, rename and edit the file’s description.
- The embed option within Drive allows the owner to place video content within a secure context (like Canvas) where only authenticated users can view the streaming Google Video player.
When you upload a video, by default it’s set as a “Public” video, which means that anybody can view it. You can easily change the privacy settings while you’re uploading the video in the “Privacy Settings” section. Or, if you’ve already uploaded the video, you can change the privacy settings by following the steps below:
- Visit the Video Manager tools associated with your YouTube account.
- Find the video you’d like to change, then click the Edit button.
- In the “Privacy Settings” drop-down menu, select Public, Unlisted, or, Private.
- Click Save Changes.
A private video can only be seen by you and the users you select. The video won’t appear on your channel or search results and will be invisible to other users.
If you use your Google+ identity on YouTube (your channel is linked to a Google+ page or Google+ profile), you’ll see a field under the “Privacy Settings” drop-down menu where you can add the profiles or email addresses of the people with whom you’d like to share your video. They’ll need a Google account to view your video. You can also share your videos with Google+ circles.
Sharing private videos for channels not linked with Google+
You need to link your channel with Google+ in order to share a private video with other users.
If you have not linked your channel with Google+: Private videos that you previously shared with users will continue to be visible by them.
You will not, however, be able to modify the list of users who are able to view your private video, except to remove all users’ access to the video.
If you would like to share a private video to a different set of users than it is currently shared with, you can link your channel with Google+ and then share it.
Alternatively, you can share your video as an unlisted video instead of a private video; then, anyone with the link will be able to access it, but your video will continue to not appear in YouTube search results.
Making a video unlisted means that only people who have the link to the video can view it. To share an unlisted video, just share the link with the people who you’d like to have access to it, and they’ll then be able to see it. Unlike private videos, the people you share the video with do not need to have a Google account to see the video, and they can share with more people simply by forwarding the link to them.
Unlisted videos won’t appear in any of YouTube’s public spaces, like your channel page or search results.
Anyone who knows the video’s link can place the video in a playlist, even a public playlist. This could make the video visible on other parts of YouTube, including the homepage.Your video could appear elsewhere on the web if you or anyone who you shared the video with shares it more broadly. For example, if somebody with whom you share the video goes on to share the link through an email or posts it on a blog, then all the people who access that link will be able to view the video.